Experienced Successful Affordable
If you are being investigated for a felony crime in Whatcom County you need protection from a criminal defense attorney immediately. While all criminal charges are serious and have potential life altering consequences, felony offenses have far greater impact on an individual’s life. Such penalties may include punishment in prison and the potential removal of Constitutional Rights, such as the right to possess a gun or even vote.
Retaining an attorney is critical to the process and protection of the accused in Whatcom County. There are times when the processing and charging of a felony takes time while investigations of the offense occur. If you believe you are in danger of being accused of committing a potential felony offense it is important to talk to a local Whatcom County criminal defense lawyer and seek representation as soon as possible. Remember, an attorney’s job is to both fight for you and protect you during every phase. Any delay may harm your defense later and put in jeopardy your future.
Felonies in Washington State are crimes that are punishable by imprisonment in state prison. Felonies are designated in three classes, A, B, or C. (RCW 9A.20.010). The seriousness of the offense is determined by its class. Potential punishment depends on the level of seriousness of the crime and the offender’s score. To determine the punishment it is critical to refer to the Washington State Sentencing Grid (RCW 9.94A.510). Also refer to the Sentencing Grid below.
The most serious crimes in Washington State are called class A felonies. Class A felonies are punishable by up to life in prison, a fine of up to $50,000, or both a fine and imprisonment (RCW 9A.20.021, 10.95.020).
A Class B felony conviction may result in a prison term of up to ten years, a fine of up to $20,000, or both. (RCW 9A.20.021)
Theft of property (other than a firearm or motor vehicle) worth more than $5,000 is a class B felony.
A class C felony in Washington is punishable by up to five years’ imprisonment, a fine of up to $10,000, or both. (RCW 9A.20.021)
Third degree assault of a child is a class C felony